The Anglican Diocese of Melbourne covers the greater Melbourne Metropolitan area and Geelong. The Cathedral parish is St Paul’s Cathedral, Melbourne.

The Diocese is divided into three regions: the Southern, Eastern, and Northern & Western Regions, each of which has its own Assistant Bishop to provide pastoral and administrative oversight. Each region has its own council.

Within those regions are archdeaconries, which serve in part to administer property and finance issues in the parishes.

Archdeaconries are broken down even further into deaneries; these smaller groupings of parishes encourage support and friendship between parishes.

Ordained and lay people, female and male, exercise ministry within the Anglican Church, in its parishes and other organisations.


 Related news


 Ministry in Melbourne


Every Christian is a servant of God and has a role to play
in the lay or ordained ministry of the Church. Lay ministries range from helping out in various ways on an honorary part time basis, to full time work as a Stipendiary Lay Minister.​




The renewal of the diaconate
on a more permanent basis has seen a careful examination of what is distinctive in all ordained ministries within the context of a ministry belonging to all baptised believers.




  St Paul's Cathedral



 Anglican communion