​Benedictine Abbey Camperdown, Vic.

Religious communities within the Diocese of Melbourne are listed in the table below.

For further information about any of these communities, click on the links to visit the various websites, or contact the Archbishop's Office using the online form.

Community of the Holy Name
Anglican Sisters who have been living, praying and ministering in Melbourne for more than 125 years. The purpose of the community is to give glory to God, and to share in the ministry of God's healing and reconciling love through prayer and service.

​Community of the Sisters of the Church
An international body of women within the Anglican Communion, living under the gospel values of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience, desiring to be faithful to the traditions of the Religious Life while exploring new ways of expressing them and of living community life and ministry today.

Order of St Benedict
Christian people who have associated themselves with a Benedictine Community in order to enrich their Christian way of life. Oblates shape their lives by living the wisdom of Christ as interpreted by St Benedict. By integrating their prayer and work, they endeavour to show Christ's presence clearly in society.

​​Society of the Sacred Mission
Anglican Priest Father Herbert Kelly founded the Society of the Sacred Mission in England in the late 19th century. In Australia today the Society is informally known as Sacred Mission Australia. Based on Kelly's idea, its foundation is an atmosphere for theological reflection and the doing of God's will.

​Third Order of the Society of St Francis
The Third Order consists of any people, men or women, married or single, priests or laity; who through following the ordinary professions of life feel called to a life-long dedication under a definite discipline and vows.